Illustrating Nursery Rhymes…


"Owl and Pussycat" © Kathy Ferrell

“Owl and Pussycat” © Kathy Ferrell

Hello, Art Fans! I’ve been thinking of all of you while I’ve been working this week! My town’s largest museum is having an open call for paintings, with a deadline at the end of this month, so I’ve been working hard, I promise!

Today I thought I’d share with you a recent Corel Painter project. If you’ve been reading much of my blog, you know that Painter is one of my favorite ways to work. I chose it for these pictures because I know I can match the colors perfectly between pieces, scoot things around for the best composition, and get a wonderful chalk pastel effect without any mess at all. I have a beautiful collection of real pastels in a fancy cabinet, and I have yet to try them. I think I’ll have the confidence, soon!

This is a set that I am creating, illustrating some of my favorite childhood nursery rhymes. I still know Lear’s “The Owl and the Pussycat” by heart. I have a lovely collection of old nursery rhyme books. I love poems and rhymes and I’ve found they are a natural ice-breaker with children. It’s a shame that sharing these old rhymes is dying away. All it takes is one generation of parents who don’t bother reading to their children to break a worthy ancient thread.

"Hey, Diddle Diddle" (detail, WIP) © Kathy Ferrell

“Hey, Diddle Diddle” (detail, WIP) © Kathy Ferrell

So these will be from my favorites. The second one is a WIP, “The Cat and the Fiddle”. When it is finished, print sets will be soon available. Next I hope to do “Wynken, Blinken and Nod”, and then perhaps “The Land of Counterpane”.

I hope you enjoy this quick peek into my studio. Do you have a favorite nursery rhyme? Do you have the good fortune to be sharing it with a little person in your life? I’d love to hear about it. I look forward to our next visit!

"Hey, Diddle Diddle" WIP, © Kathy Ferrell

“Hey, Diddle Diddle” WIP, © Kathy Ferrell

2 comments on “Illustrating Nursery Rhymes…

  1. Marie Marfia says:

    Wasn’t there a poem by Robert Louis Stephenson called The Swing? I used to love that one as well as all the ones you’ve mentioned here. Lovely puss and owl, and such a beautiful pea green boat!

Leave a Reply

