Katzenjammer (The Yowling of Cats)


"Halloween Cat" (detail) Kathy Ferrell 2013

“Halloween Cat” (detail) Kathy Ferrell 2013

 

I wanted to share a piece that I may not get completed for Halloween. Sigh. I have a lot on my plate, but I have to prioritize. Paid work comes first, bottom line. So here’s just a detail of one I’ve had on the drawing board for a while. I won’t tell what has him so frightened. Wait and see!

I gave my post that title because I love that word. There may be some of you out there who are familiar with an old comic strip called “The Katzenjammer Kids” about two little German boys who caused nothing but headaches for Mama and “The Captain”. They were essentially horrible, but I found them amusing. I once looked up that word, and, as I recall, it translates literally to “the yowling of cats”. Perhaps this Halloween we will all hear katzenjammer in the alley ways. Be safe, BE KIND TO ANIMALS, and have fun this Halloween!

Otto, my friend and model.

Otto, my friend and model.

6 comments on “Katzenjammer (The Yowling of Cats)

  1. Marie Marfia says:

    Otto doesn’t look terribly friendly in that photo! Love the Katzenjammer illustration!

    • Aww, thanks! Bless his heart, he had a little overbite, and he really did sit around looking like Dracula. But he was the most gentle, loving cat I’ve ever had. We lost him last month to a heart problem, but he’ll live always in our hearts! :,)

  2. Jack Flacco says:

    Otto seems disturbed by having his picture taken. Are you sure he isn’t ready to pounce? 🙂

  3. A great Halloween cat!

Leave a Reply

