It Doesn’t Take Much to Keep Me Occupied…


Image

“Rose Hips” 5×7″, Faber Castell Polychromos pencils on Stonehenge paper

In an effort to move swiftly away from yesterday’s post, here are two pieces I did in the last month or so. I had never used Polychromos pencils before, but since Dick Blick is my candy man, I couldn’t resist. I cannot recommend these wonderful pencils highly enough. Incredible to work with, and combined with the Stonehenge…something close to Paradise.

The rose hips were snipped from my climbing white rose. I’ve always been told that you can eat them, and they are an excellent vitamin C source, but I’ve always been afraid to try. The piece below is a branch my husband brought into the studio, after my request to bring in something “natural for me to draw”. I asked him from what tree it came, and he replied, “I dunno. One of the trees out there.” The “trees out there” in West Virginia amount to a lot of trees, if you’ll forgive the understatement. So…sorry I don’t know the species of this one.

Image“Withered Branch”, 5×7″, Polychromos pencil on Stonehenge paper

Words and images (unless otherwise noted) are © Kathy Ferrell 2013

13 comments on “It Doesn’t Take Much to Keep Me Occupied…

  1. Susan Bahr says:

    These are so beautiful – I loved the simple composition – must have felt so good to dedicating some time to drawing. Lovely, really!

  2. Nice work. Thanks for the tip on the pencils. I find that I can do a decent drawing fairly quickly where my acrylic paintings take forever, so I am thinking to get into drawing and explore other forms of color artwork in relation to that.

  3. joetowey says:

    These are fantastic! I have a couple of illustrated botanical guides from the 1950’s and these illustrations match the style wonderfully!

  4. metadreamer says:

    Thanks so much for liking my (rather amateur) orchid painting! When I see your amazing botanical studies, I see I have a long way to go, these are really wonderful. I especially like the withered branch. The rotting leaf of my orchid is what made me want to paint it. I have a disability and find tight control really hard with watercolour. maybe I could try pencils instead!

Leave a Reply

