Time for Growth…


“Francophile” ©Kathy Ferrell 2012, Rapidograph pen on watercolor paper.

Things are finally beginning to relax a little in my “regular” life. My mother is stabilized and happy. I must say, after my experiences this summer…if you know someone who is a caregiver for someone with Alzheimer’s, do something to show them some kindness. That must be one of the most stressful jobs in the world. Since things are finally getting back on track, I discovered this “One Drawing a Day” trend that is sweeping the world. I was immediately captivated, ordered the book from my local library, and last night took the plunge! I like the book so much that today I’m going to buy my own copy. It’s awesome!

Here’s the website, so you can see the work of other participants.

http://onedrawingaday.com

This is the first exercise from the book. You’re supposed to just gather a few items that happen to be in a room and make a little still life. I was so eager that I just gathered up a few things from my coffee table, and after I got the drawing done, I realized what a strong French influence is comically present, so I call it “Francophile”.

Periodically, I try to participate in creativity systems, to open a fresh vein in my own “art mine”. I’ve worked through Betty Edwards “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain” twice and I cannot recommend it highly enough, for everyone, not just artists. It is incredible.

I’ve also worked through Julia Cameron’s “The Artist’s Way”. It is very, very good, but for me personally, I feel it leaned a little heavier on analyzing the process instead of making the art.

So Veronica Lawlor’s book will be my fourth experience with this sort of thing. Check out the book, it’s very cool!

http://www.amazon.com/One-Drawing-Day-Creativity-Illustration/dp/1592537243

Leave a Reply

