Home for Christmas


Image

"Home for Christmas" ©Kathy Ferrell 2011. Corel Painter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s my latest. I finished it today. It’s a little picture of me coming home tired after a long day of errands. I was trying to capture a feeling of Winter twilight.

I’ve been very sad today. For the first time in 19 years, my son isn’t going to be home for Christmas. He’s a brilliant young man with a great future, and he’ll do well. But I miss him terribly.

So…what to do? My choices were:

A. Look through his baby album and take to drink.

or

B. Do what I always do…work. Work, work, work.

Artists, writers, poets, musicians…

When you hurt…work.

When you love…work.

When you laugh…work.

When you fail…work. And work some more.

Looking forward to the New Year, I thought I’d give a new WordPress theme a try. This is “Comet”. Opinions are welcome and valued! Some of my previous posts might look a little weird with the new theme. I’ll try to go back and edit for clarity as time allows. I just thought the previous theme was a little hard to read.

 

 

©Kathy Ferrell and “Big Cup O’Blog” (blog about Cup O Swank Studio), 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathy Ferrell and Big Cup O’Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 comments on “Home for Christmas

  1. kerryl29 says:

    I really like the illustration, Kathy; nicely executed.

    (Work is the solution to all of your problems…eh…not so much, IMO. But it can be a great distraction.)

  2. Thanks! 🙂 No, work (meaning creating art), can’t solve everything, but I really believe creative pursuits are among the healthiest ways of dealing with stresses. For me, it’s just one of the most rejuvenating things I can do. A steam bath and a nap are runners up, tho. 🙂

Leave a Reply

