Weird, Wonderful West Virginia


  

"Mothman" ©Kathy Ferrell 2011, Corel Painter & Adobe Photoshop

"Mothman" ©Kathy Ferrell 2011 Corel Painter & Adobe Photoshop

 

  A little less than two weeks ago I was hacking my way through the jungles of the internets when I spied in the distance a glimmer of enlightenment. Warily I approached and was enthralled to discover that …wonder of wonders…it was the site of another mountaineer! And he was in need of a writer. The legends I’d heard were true! Fortune, it seems, does occasionally smile on the stalwart.

 

 Introductions were made, work was reviewed, decisions were considered, and Todd Carpenter named me writer and illustrator for the Myths and Mysteries section of myWV.net! Myths & Mysteries 

  Being a native, I know that one has only to scratch a little into our rich, dark soil to unearth some pale, crawly thing. All of the juiciest ones, dear reader, I promise to share with you. 

  As of press time, my first sinister six await your indulgence. The introductory tale, “Mothman: World-Renowned West Virginia Monster” sports my initial illustration, with many more to follow.

  As I step into these dimly lit woods, my constant reader, I ask you to follow me. This has been my playground for ages. Stay on the path, and if you lose sight of me…cry out. 

  One final note…as an aficionado of Mountaineer Macabre, I am ever eager to gather West Virginia’s weirdest tales into my secluded sepulchre. Always delighted to hear from my fans, I would love to read your suggestions for future installments. Remember, please, to include the county in which the story takes place, and the town if applicable.

  Until we meet again…sommeil légèrement, mes innocents.

 Myths & Mysteries 

©Kathy Ferrell and “Big Cup O’Blog” (blog about Cup O Swank Studio), 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathy Ferrell and Big Cup O’Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 comments on “Weird, Wonderful West Virginia

  1. I love your art and I’m linking to this page.

  2. You do wonderful work – both your writing and illustrations. I’m so happy we connected! BTW… http://cuposwank.com should be up and running soon!

Leave a Reply

