Artist. Genius. Garment Liaison…


"Pantry Shelf" (incomplete) ©KathyFerrell 2011 Corel Painter 11

  

Not much of a post this evening. I’m afraid these many, many days of damp weather have been wreaking havoc on my arthritis. Five days ago, I downloaded the 30-day trial of the complete “Corel Painter 11”. Only today have I been able to work with it a little, and this is what I did. So far, this is two hours work, from blank page to this level. I am still searching around looking at all the brushes and choices of media. 

  There is such an incredible array of things to play with in this…the colors, the textures. It is remarkable…and I must make it mine. 🙂 It is a wonder that I chose such a dull subject to begin with, but I did that on purpose. If I had chosen a more colorful, ambitious subject, my faithful readers would not have heard from me for weeks. I’d be holed up in the art bunker with the door shut, sucking down coffee, blasting music, ignoring my family. Only shuffling out occasionally for a caffeine refill, clutching an old bathrobe at my throat and muttering incomprehensible things about “transparencies, ppi, layer groups…”

“Have you seen my socks?” remarks family member innocently.

  “I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE for your garments. I AM AN ARTIST. I AM TRYING TO DO SOMETHING YOU JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND!” replies misunderstood genius.

  So for the first time out of the chute, I chose something a lot less complicated. I have a great many socks for which I am responsible, you see. 🙂                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

©Kathy Ferrell and “Big Cup O’Blog” (blog about Cup O Swank Studio), 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathy Ferrell and Big Cup O’Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

