>Art Blizzard


>

January 2011 found me resolved to change a few things about the way I run the business of being an artist. One significant new behavior I had decided to incorporate was to begin to “show” again, after a long hiatus to concentrate on editorial work. I wanted some small project, not terribly demanding, and I began to look around. I decided to answer a call for entries from the Lederer Gallery at SUNY Geneseo.

The project is called “Art Blizzard” and if I recall correctly, funds raised from the sale of the art will go to help build a new wing. They sought donations of 5 pieces, any media, 5×5″ each. This sounded like just the sort of thing I needed. I got right to work and created five pieces.
“Yellow House” 5×5″ gouache
© Kathy Ferrell 2011 All rights reserved.
The first is a painting of a house across the street from my studio. I changed it from blue to yellow, but at the time I took the photo, there really were colorful hollyhocks and a flag in a flowerpot. Unfortunately, what was once a lovely home has fallen into pitiful neglect since the photo was taken. But that’s why art is good for you. Imagine it better.



Next is a small version of what I hope to someday turn into a large oil painting. I used this as an opportunity to work out how I want the water ripples to look. When I make the large painting, I will need a model to pose coming up from water holding a large bead, while I take photos. I asked my son the photographer if he could find a model and take some shots at a pool…

“Oh, Mom. No.”
“Pearl of Great Price” 5×5″ ink on watercolor paper 

© Kathy Ferrell 2011 All rights reserved
This is why I do so much work from memory and imagination. My little digital camera died and needs replaced. A perfectly adequate little machine for it’s purpose. My expensive actual-film-using Pentax died long ago and I can’t find any one in town who repairs them.  Anyway, I envision a Circe Invidiosa sort of piece, an homage to John William Waterhouse,  an eerie green glow pervasive throughout.
“Sunrise” 5×5″ watercolor & Rapidograph
© Kathy Ferrell 2011 All rights reserved


 

Above is a piece created because of a “vision” I had one early morning, of a beneficent spirit shining down inspiration on my studio. I did the blacks with a Rapidograph pen. It was my first use of Da Vinci Watercolor’s “Green-Gold”. I love that shade.



“Dishrack” 5×5″ acrylic on canvas 

© Kathy Ferrell All rights reserved
Here’s one for fun…a little acrylic of my dish drainer. I do not actually have that grouchy sign, but I do have a tin sign depicting R. Crumb’s “Mr. Natural” doing the dishes.








 

“Delia” 5×5″ colored pencil on paper
© Kathy Ferrell 2011 All rights reserved


 

The final piece is a little colored pencil work, with the treasured stubs of very old Prismas…the ORIGINAL formula. I do not care for their new type. Too waxy. Meaning I don’t get to do many colored pencil pieces anymore. I would love to discover a brand that has the feel and richness that my favorites once did. That’s an experiment for another day.



Despite some technical difficulties that delayed the opening on SUNY Geneseo’s on-line gallery, they did get it up & running, and Gallery Director Cynthia Hawkins was gracious enough to e-mail me the day the site went up. When I logged on, I was delighted to see that four of my five pieces had already sold! Only “Delia” was left. Exotic nudes aren’t for everyone. The show is still going on, however, and I think someone will give the piece a good home. I do hope that I will hear from each buyer (using the contact info from the back of the art), so that I may add them to my treasured list of patrons.


All in all, dear reader, this re-introduction to “showing” was a pleasant experience for three reasons…
1. A responsive, professional Gallery Director, clear and straightforward with her information.
2. While I waited, I made sure to keep busy with lots of other work. (Digital, mostly).
3. Best of all, I got to see SOLD! on a lot of my work, and I am the kind of artist that loves that validation.

©Kathy Ferrell and “Big Cup O’Blog” (blog about Cup O Swank Studio), 2011.Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathy Ferrell and Big Cup O’Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

Leave a Reply

